For more than 80 years, Island View Resort has been the premier family and fishing vacation destination on Pelican Lake in Orr, Minnesota. Learn more about the history of Island View Resort, how it has grown to become your scenic family vacation destination and the wonderful memories and traditions families have been making since 1937!
Hagen’s Resort – 1937-1950s
Al Hagen was a professional hotel developer who had designed and built hotels in northern Iowa, and cities across Minnesota including Red Wing, Marshall and Rochester. He spent his lifetime designing beautiful places in which to relax after travel, and brought those same sensibilities to Hagen’s Resort in Orr, Minnesota. This would be his final project, where he and his wife, Josie would retire.
Al and Josie Hagen purchased the land where they would build Hagen’s resort in 1936, putting much thought into the location right off of Big Bay. They chose the highest point on the lake, and a westward facing location to take advantage of the sunsets on the lake. The resort also had a clear view of what was then known as Big Bailey’s Island, but is now the Big Island Scientific and Natural Area.
The Hagens worked hard to create a park-like atmosphere, creating grassy areas for play and building both the main lodge and 9 of the current 13 cabins. The resort was open for business in 1937.
Bloomquist Resort – 1950s-????
At some point the resort was sold to the Bloomquist family, though we don’t have much to go on besides an old map of the area which names the resort as Bloomquist Resort.
Island View Resort – 2003-Present
John and Lisa Matthews are the current owners of Island View Resort. We purchased it in 2003 because we absolutely loved the layout of the cabins, the amount of lakeshore our guests have available to them, the park-like grounds and the history of the Hagens and what they built here among the resort industry.
Our goal is to continue to maintain these historic cabins, and add new cabins as necessary to make sure our guests can experience a pure, northwoods cabin vacation and fishing experience.
For photos and stories about our past and to keep up with current adventures, visit our History page.
City of Orr, MN
The area around Pelican Lake saw many indigenous people cross its lands and waters over thousands of years, and starting in about the 1700s French fur traders – voyageurs – and eventually lumberjacks began to arrive in the area to take advantage of natural resources.
In the late 1800s, the lumber industry brought a man named William Orr to the area. He built a general store, hotel and other permanent structures a the site of the town which would bear his name. The town was officially incorporated in 1905.
In recent years, the tourism industry has become more important to the area, such as our Island View Resort! Orr is known as the Home of Billy Bluegill and the Gateway to Voyageurs National Park and the Northwoods – including Superior National Forest.